Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad w/ Grilled Chicken

Like most, I don’t really have the time to act like June Cleaver, slaving away in the kitchen- I write full-time, have an Etsy shop, two kids, a husband, and I’m our maid- but, I do have an eclectic palette that requires satiation at least three times a week.  So, I have a couple of go-to cook-books, that offer exactly what I need, without all the bologna {seriously, never attempt to feed me bologna.} Here is one of my favorite recipes, from one of my favorite cook-books:

  • The New York Times Bestselling cook-book by Thug Kitchen, “Eat Like you Give a F*ck,” is one of my food bibles. It’s entirely vegan, but we here at Casa de Michael are not, so I add meat to most of the dishes; obviously, you don’t have to. I find most of their recipes are fairly straight forward, if you have basic knowledge of how to use a kitchen. If you don’t, well, they’ll F*ckin’ explain it. There are a lot of Asian inspired dishes, which is right up my alley; so be prepared, if it’s not already on hand, to buy Soy Sauce, Peanut Oil, Sesame Oil, and rice noodles/ paper. Other than that, you probably already have the other ingredients sitting in your cupboard or fridge. If not, you’re a slacker. Go to the store!

I joke- but, seriously…

Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad w/ Grilled Chicken Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad w/ Chicken

Prep Time: 20 minutes   Serves: 4 as a main dish, 6 as a side dish.

Cook Time: Until you’re out of the E-coli zone

Over-all Time: About 40 minutes, at most

  • 2 Fully cooked/grilled chicken breasts, sliced or cubed. {I slap mine in the oven on 425, because I’m impatient, until they’re my kind of “done.”}
  • 1 Package (6.75 oz) rice noodles
  • 1/2 Head of lettuce, chopped – whatever floppy-ish lettuce you want to use.
  • 2 Medium carrots, cut into matchstick size
  • 1 Cucumber, peel, remove seeds, cut into matchstick size
  • 1 Cup thinly sliced fresh mint leaves {optional}
  • 1 Cup thinly sliced fresh basil leaves {optional}
  • 1 Cup chopped cilantro leaves {optional}
  • 1 Cup chopped scallion/green onion
  • 1 cup salted roasted peanuts, finely chopped for garnish
  • Lime wedges for serving
  • Toasted Sesame Dressing {Recipe below. I PROMISE you wont be disappointed; just do it!}

Chop/dice/slice your veggies, herbs, and garnishes. I found a paring knife worked best. Mix them all together, except for the lettuce, and peanuts. Set aside.

Cook your noodles according to their packaging instructions. When they’re done (slightly flimsy, but not mush; rice noodles can be a bugger, so watch them, closely,) drain and run under cold water until cool to touch, to stop the cooking process. Set aside.

Toasted Sesame Dressing:

(Remember that soy sauce and sesame oil I told you about? Yeah, get that out now.)

  • 1/2 Cup rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp orange/lime/lemon juice, whichever you prefer. I prefer OJ and lime for this.
  • 1/2 Tsp soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil (or coconut oil, your choice)
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • I also sometimes add 1-2 Tbsp of water, if I find it’s too strong.

Put it all together, and shake it up, vigorously! I have a cocktail shaker with a lid at home, but Tupperware with a lid works just as well.

To Serve:

Pile a mound of noodles in the middle of a dinner plate. Surround noodles with your chopped lettuce. You can either place your mixture of veggies/herbs right on top of the noodles, or neatly placed around the edges like in the photo, the choice is yours. I like messy food, so mine get dumped right on top of that sucker! Now place your chicken, and drizzle your dressing all over! Garnish with your chopped peanuts, and VOILA!

If you enjoyed this recipe, let me know!

Share some pictures of it (you know we take pictures of awesome food!) Share it with other foodies!

Happy gnashing!

 

Leave a Reply

